Minister presents innovation awards at ELECRAMA 2018

Union Minister for Law & Justice and Electronics & Information Technology Ravi Shankar Prasad today presented six innovation awards to Indian university students at ELECRAMA 2018 being held here.

While the first award was bagged by Farheen Chisti, the second award was given to two students: Aman Jha and Rishikant Sharma. Ayesha Firdaus, Nishant Kumar and Sunil Panday got the third prize.

Mr Prasad said the industry must promote young talent and work towards making India a global hub for electronics manufacturing. “Smart electricity leveraging digital technologies can propel government initiatives like Make in India. Digital platforms can be used to bring transformational changes across the country,” he said.

Nearly 1,200 exhibitors showcased their products and services at the biggest showcase of electrical and electronics manufacturers organised by the Indian Electrical and Electronics Manufacturers’ Association (IEEMA) from March 10 to 14. Over 300 companies from 120-plus countries participated during the event.

On March 9, Union Minister for Commerce and Industry Suresh Prabhu gave three Start-up Awards to promote the start-up ecosystem and growth of the sector. The awards were given to Artem (first place), Altigreen (second place) and EcoMitram (third place).

The jury had decided to institute Impact Award as well which was won by Cygen Healthcare.

India is the third largest producer of electricity in the world. The government has set a target year of 2030 for all electric mobility in the country.