IET announces Search For The World’s best Innovators In Engineering, science aND Technology 12 weeks To Enter

The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) has once again launched their search to find the most exciting engineering, science IETand technology innovations the world has to offer as part of its esteemed Innovation Awards programme.

The IET Innovation Awards are designed to recognize breakthrough innovations which have advanced their respective field across 15 categories from energy and sustainability to transport and healthcare.

The Awards, which run annually, cover an international scope and are free to enter to anyone with a new and innovative product or service – providing budding or established engineering inventors with a unique platform to gain exposure for their ideas. All shortlisted and winning entries will be promoted to the IET’s 160,000 members across the globe.

The awards scheme, now in its 11th year, is renowned for raising the profile of its winners and bringing them to a wider audience. Many former Innovation Award winners report increased interest in their products as a result of winning the accolade. Previous winners have included a tiny insertable cardiac monitor, a fridge that can stay cold without power and a landmine detection radar algorithm.

The scheme is open to organisations or individuals doing something that will introduce a technological step change and that contributes to better ways of doing things, new products, enhanced performance or better value.

William Webb, IET President, said: “Innovation is essential for the growth of the global economy and raising the standard of living of all communities. Innovation is the differentiator that makes companies successful and, in keeping with the IET’s mission to inspire excellence in engineering and technology, we now invite applications to find the best innovations from across the world.

“The Innovation Awards are a highlight of our awards calendar and sponsorship programme, which generates hundreds of thousands of pounds every year to help us celebrate and reward the next generation of engineers. These awards are our annual opportunity to shine the light on the incredible inventors that our world has to offer, supporting them in their work, ability and achievements.”

Entries are sought in the following categories:

  • Asset Management
  • Built Environment
  • Communications
  • Emerging Technology Design
  • Healthcare Technologies
  • Information Technology
  • Intelligent Systems
  • Manufacturing Technology
  • Measurement in Action
  • Model-Based Engineering
  • Navigation and Surveillance Communications
  • Power / Energy
  • Start-up
  • Sustainability
  • Transport

    Each category of the Innovation Awards is independently judged by a panel of experts in that field, with the shortlist announced in late September. The winners will be revealed at a black tie dinner and ceremony on Wednesday 18 November 2015 at the Brewery in London.

    In addition, the IET offers sponsorship opportunities for the Innovation Awards which provide profile opportunities within the global science, engineering, and technology community.

    To find out more about the Innovation Awards, sponsorship opportunities or to submit an entry, please visit The deadline for entries is Friday 3 July 2015.

    The 2015 IET Innovation Awards are sponsored by ABB, Altran, Boeing, the ERA Foundation, MathWorks National Grid and WMG.

    More about the IET Engineering Excellence Awards Series

  • In 2014, the IET provided over £1,000,000 in awards, prizes and scholarships, to celebrate excellence and innovation in the sector and encourage the next generation of engineers and technicians.
  • The IET will maintain this investment in 2015 with its portfolio of awards which includes Diamond Jubilee scholarships, Apprentice and Technician awards, scholarships in India, the Present around the World competition and the IET A F Harvey Engineering Research Prize.
  •  For more information visit http:/

%d bloggers like this: