BMS And Matrushri Students Win IET South-1 Scholarship Award

The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) Winners of the IET India Scholarship awards, 2015 - South-1 Regional Roundannounced the winners of south regional round of its prestigious Scholarship Award today. The South regional rounds take place in two phases in Bangalore and Chennai respectively.

Priyanka Kaliwal from BMS College of Engineering and Abhay Joshi from Matrusri Engineering College, Osmania University won the first phase of South regional round in the Women and General categories respectively that took place in PES University today. The South – 2 regional round will take place at SRM University, Chennai on August 1, 2015.

The winners received a cash prize of Rs 40,000 and will compete for greater glory at the National Finals that will be held in Bangalore in August

The participants presented their ideas on developing a “Smart Village” and were judged on their presentation skills, leadership potential, original ideas, and creativity of solution and depth of technical understanding.

Savitha Sameerdas and Aman Achpal from PES College were runners up in the Women’s and General categories respectively.

The IET India Scholarship Award is organised in four levels, from eligibility to theoretical and practical engineering case resolutions. The winners from each of the regions will then compete at the national finals.

IET India instituted the annual IET Scholarship Awards in 2013 to underline the organisation’s commitment to India’s engineering community and to incentivise young people entering the engineering and technology profession. Designed to reward and celebrate individual excellence and innovation among undergraduate engineering students, with combined prize money of Rs 8 lakhs. Nearly 7,000 engineering students applied to the 2015 edition of IET India Scholarship Awards. Based on the eligibility criteria, about 1,300 were shortlisted to write the preliminary online test. From these 168 students are now competing at 5 regional rounds being held in the cities of Bangalore, Chennai, New Delhi, Kolkata and Pune.

The National Finals will take place in Bangalore on August 31, 2015 with Mr. Narayana Murthy as the Chief Guest and Prof William Webb, President of the IET as Guest of Honor.

Filed in: News

Related Posts

Bookmark and Promote!

© IT Voice | Online IT Magazine India. All rights reserved.
Powered by IT Voice