This WhatsApp bug let’s you delete message even after 7 minutes

The ability to delete a WhatsApp message is a feature that users have been wanting for a long time in the messaging app. The ‘Delete for Every One’ feature allows users to recall messages sent both in a individual chats as well as Group Chats. It appears to be a panacea for all those mistakenly sent messages. It can surely be termed one of the ‘biggest feature’ added to WhatsApp in the past many years. The is available on both Android and iOSplatforms.

To recall messages using this feature, users need to delete messages sent within the next 7 minutes (post sending the message). The time-limit to delete/recall a message is same for both Individual and Group chats.

However, there may be times when you may want to delete the chat but those ‘golden 7 minutes’ have expired. But now it seems there’s a way you can do it even after seven minutes. The ‘hack’ has been discovered by Android Jefe, a Spanish blog website. The blog claims that a bug in WhatsApp allows this hack, using which you can delete messages even after 7 minutes of sending them. But here too there’s an expiry limit of seven days. This means users can delete messages sent for up to a maximum of seven days. Another plus, it works for both read and unread messages. This means you can delete/recall a message even after it has been read. Wondering how? Here’s an step-by-step guide:

Go to Settings

Turn off Wi-Fi and Mobile Data of your smartphone

 Go back to the main Settings page and head to Apps

 Select WhatsApp and choose Force Stop

Go back to main Settings page again and head to Date & time

 Disable Automatic date & time

Set the date and time to exactly the same as you sent the message

 Reopen WhatsApp and go to that message

 Tap and hold on it and choose Delete

 Now you will be able to see both options to ‘delete for me’ and ‘delete for everyone’

 Select ‘Delete for Everyone’ and the message you wanted to delete/recall will show as ‘This message was deleted’

GadgetsNow too tested this feature and found that it does work. Though it did take a few extra minutes at times for the message to be delete from the recipient’s phone.

Filed in: News

Recent Posts

Bookmark and Promote!

© 0732 ItVoice | Online IT Magazine India. All rights reserved.
Powered by IT Voice